Frankfurt

Arrived in Frankfurt on the 11th and decided to take the 30 minute walk to my hostel instead of taking public transport, I’m glad I did as I got to see the city from the riverside which is an amazing view, Frankfurt really is one of the most different cities you can visit in Germany, it’s skyline makes you think of America and it really has got something for everyone. Got unpacked at the hostel and headed straight into town, had a wander through the banking district to see all the skyscrapers and the European Central Bank, also saw the old römerplatz part of town which almost looks out of place and also visited the shopping district which you could find literally anything you would want at. It did start snowing very heavily whilst I was out which the wind turned into a blizzard and I had to take refuge in Starbucks, though none of the snow stuck.

The next day I woke up and was surprised that it seemed to have snowed again in the middle of the night and every bit of it stuck, it also carried on heavily through the day with a minimum of 5 inches making it awkward to walk through, due to this I ended up not going up the main tower and seeing frankfurt from high up unfortunately, however I headed to the zoo instead and had a great time having most of the houses to myself, the nocturnal house was awesome and I think it’s the first time I’ve seen an aye-aye in person.

Frankfurt is an amazing city and I will definitely come back at some point as I didn’t have enough time or the right weather to do/see everything, next stop is Stuttgart, hopefully there will be less snow to wade through.

Josh

20130313-102049.jpg

20130313-102206.jpg

20130313-102329.jpg

20130313-102225.jpg

20130313-102311.jpg

20130313-102258.jpg

20130313-102244.jpg

20130313-102217.jpg

Leave a Reply

